Civia Bryant, two years later.

It’s been two years since I bought the Bryant (and since I last posted on this blog). But weirdly enough, somebody still reads the blog once in awhile (thanks Wayne). And I’ve come to another key moment in my cycling life. So here goes:

I feel like the Bryant and I, while we’re a pretty good match, are not quite gelling. Put it this way: I’m ready to see other bikes. The Bryant was never really intended to be my primary bike, just for when the weather’s wet and the commute’s rough. But then I broke my Scott. The summer bike. The fast(er) bike. I don’t even know how. It happened at some point during RSVP, the ride from Seattle to Vancouver, B.C. When I got home I discovered another kink in the downtube, which on an aluminum frame means it’s toast. I didn’t even bother getting a crash replacement frame again. This is the second time it’s happened, so I’m done with aluminum. And with Scott, for that matter. I don’t think I could ever trust a Scott frame again.

So that left me with the Civia as my sole ride for the past year.

I spent a lot more time on it, especially since we moved. My commute is now a couple of miles longer, and it’s got a lot more hills. And the Civia doesn’t especially like hills. It’ll grudgingly accept them. But it’s not happy on them. I know, I know, you’re thinking, it’s not (the bike), it’s me. Which could be. I don’t think we quite fit right. It’s designed for someone a little wider. My legs feel a little splayed out on the thing. I could fix this with a narrower crankset, but there aren’t that many choices for a Gates carbon belt. The Alfine hub as proved a little finicky to keep adjusted correctly, and the Avid BB5 brakes are not the greatest disc stoppers out there.

So while it’s been a very solid, faithful steed, there are just enough little irritations to keep me from falling in love with it. I think with another four hundred bucks or so, I could get it sorted out a little better, drop some of the weight and get it close to perfect.

But I don’t think I’m going to do that now. Especially since I’ve found…. well, stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Civia Bryant, two years later.

  1. druzianich says:

    Cleverly written post.

Leave a Reply

