The Scott is dead. Long live the Scott.

The Scott Speedster S40My ride is a beautiful thing. It’s a 2008 Scott Speedster S40, which is near the bottom of the Scott road bike line-up, but still a much faster bike than its rider. It’s got a sculpted, aluminum frame with sleek components, and the ride is light, super-responsive and silky smooth.

It’s also dead. I killed it. I ran smack into a curb at a fairly good clip a few weeks ago, which thankfully didn’t knock me off, but did flat my rear tire. This incident made me rethink my whole approach to riding in the dark. I got the aforementioned BIG headlight and fatter, tougher tires. What I didn’t notice until a couple of days ago was the fact that I also buckled the frame under the top tube and the down tube. I guess it hit so hard that the force exerted on the fork actually bent the frame in those two areas. The bike guy at Second Ascent explained it this way: “Your frame is toast.” Yes, I could still ride it, but it’s not safe. The whole thing could crumple up like a tin can the next time I hit something.

Fortunately, Scott has a crash protection program, in which they sell customers like me replacement frames for a very low cost (relatively speaking), and the guys at Second Ascent will swap the components over for a nominal fee. I’ll essentially have a new bike for much, much less than what I originally paid for it. It’s a great deal.

When it comes back to me, I think it’ll take time for me to love it again, I sorta feel like that guy who funded a cloning research project to get a new copy of his dead dog. It’ll be the same, but not.

I’ll still commute on it, (but you could probably see this coming) this is not the perfect bike for commuting. This is an I’m-pretending-to-be-Andy Schleck-in-the-Tour-de-France bike. What I need is an If-I-hit-this-pothole-I-won’t-die bike. If I had to do it all over again…. oy. More on that later.

2 thoughts on “The Scott is dead. Long live the Scott.

  1. Waynkster says:

    There is no shame in being a two-bike man. I have three, although two are being used at the moment to collect dust specimens for a future science fair project. wg

    • dougkimster says:

      I have a back-up, it’s an old steel Trek mountain bike that I will start using soon. It weighs literally twice what the Scott does, but hey, it’s a better workout, and this thing eats potholes for lunch. It’s bombproof.

Leave a Reply

